Massage Guns
Theragun Prime vs Theragun Mini
Same brand, same missing specs, very different tools. The Prime is the Theragun you use at home on thick muscle; the Mini is the one you carry. Here is what Therabody publishes for each, what it does not, and where the cheaper Relief sits between them.
By Stephen V.Published
Disclosure:Grip & Gait earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend or the order we rank things in — here is exactly how we’re funded.
Quick picks
Ranked on published manufacturer specs and what they mean for the job, not on testing we have not done. Tap a row for the full reasoning. How we score.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Therabody Theragun Prime (6th Gen) Five speeds, real-time pressure feedback, and the long stroke Therabody quotes. The Theragun to own if it lives in a drawer at home. | Home use, thick muscle | 8.0 | $329.99 · View on Amazon Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded |
| 2 | Therabody Theragun Mini (3rd Gen) 0.40 kg, three speeds, 150 minutes of stated battery and a travel lock. Small enough to actually take, which is the only spec that matters for a travel gun. | Carrying it | 7.4 | $219.99 · View on Amazon Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded |
| 3 | Therabody Theragun Relief One-button control, 1.37 lb, and Therabody's gentlest percussion. The right answer for older hands, and the cheapest of the three. | Gentle, simplest, cheapest Theragun | 7.6 | $159.99 · View on Amazon Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded |
The short answer
If the gun lives at home and the targets are glutes, quads, hamstrings or a lower back, buy the Prime. If the gun lives in a bag and the targets are calves, forearms and shoulders between meetings or after a run, buy the Mini. If you want a Theragun mainly for gentleness and simplicity — for an older parent, thin skin, a sensitive area — the Reliefis cheaper than both and closer to what you actually want. And if you do not need the brand at all, a budget gun that publishes its numbers does the Prime’s job for a fraction of the money, which is the comparison we end on.
What Therabody publishes for each, checked on 17 September 2026
We fetched all three current US product pages on the same day and copied down exactly what is on them. It is less than you would expect, and the absences matter as much as the numbers.
| Spec | Prime (6th Gen) | Mini (3rd Gen) / Relief |
|---|---|---|
| Weight | 32 oz (907 g) | Mini 0.40 kg / Relief 1.37 lb |
| Speeds | 5 | Mini 3 (1750, 2100, 2400 PPM) / Relief not stated |
| Battery, as stated | 120 minutes, tested at the lowest speed | Mini 150 minutes / Relief 120 minutes |
| Attachments in the box | 2 (Dampener, Standard Ball) | 3 each (Dampener, Standard Ball, Thumb) |
| Dimensions | 238 x 153 x 61 mm | Mini 116 x 135 x 96 mm / Relief 9.66 x 2.58 x 1.37 in |
| Warranty | 1-year limited | 1-year limited / 1-year |
| Pressure feedback | Yes, real-time | Not stated for either |
| Amplitude | Not published | Not published |
| Stall force | Not published | Not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not published | Not published |
Three things stand out. First, the Mini page is the only one of the three that publishes a speed range in percussions per minute; the Prime page says “five speeds” and no more. Second, none of the three publishes amplitude, stall force or noise on the page you buy from — the same gap we document across the range in cheap vs expensive massage guns. The 16 mm stroke Therabody quotes for the Prime in its wider material is not on its product page, and the Mini’s stroke is not stated anywhere we could find, which is the honest answer to “how much depth do you give up.” Third, the Mini ships with more attachments than the Prime, which tells you the attachment count is a packaging decision and not a measure of anything.
Where the Prime is the right Theragun
- Thick muscle. The long stroke Therabody quotes is the reason to buy a Theragun at all, and it is the Prime that has it. A short body has to give up stroke somewhere, and Therabody does not say where the Mini gives it up.
- Pressure feedback.The Prime’s real-time pressure display is the single feature that stops the most common mistake with any gun, which is leaning on it as if more force were more result. The Mini and Relief pages do not claim it.
- Reach.A full-size handle gets you to your own glute and the top of your own back. The Mini’s short body does not, and its own con in our registry is exactly that: you cannot reach your own mid-back with it.
- Speed steps.Five speeds against three. Not a big deal in practice — most people use two — but the low end matters on a sensitive area and the Prime has more room below its top setting.
Where the Mini is the right Theragun
- It goes with you. 0.40 kg and roughly the size of a large hand, with a travel lock so it does not switch on in a bag and a soft case in the box. This is the whole reason it exists, and no full-size gun competes on it.
- Battery.150 stated minutes against the Prime’s 120, and the Prime page adds that its figure was tested at the lowest speed. A travel gun that lasts a week of short sessions between charges is worth more than a home gun that charges beside the bed.
- Small muscle, small head.Forearms, calves, the top of a shoulder — the Mini is easier to steer on a small target than a full-size gun, and precision matters more than depth there.
- It is quieter to live with.Not a published claim — Therabody does not state decibels for any of the three — so we will only say a smaller motor is generally a quieter one, and leave it at that.
Where the Relief fits, and why it is cheaper than both
Therabody describes the Relief as its gentlest level of percussive massage, with one-button control and no speed range stated, and it is the lightest of the three at 1.37 lb with the same three attachments as the Mini. It sits a price tier below both; the live prices are in the cards. It is not a compromise version of the Prime; it is a different product for a different buyer — someone who wants percussion without the aggression, does not want to pair anything to a phone, and would rather a simple gun they use than a capable one they avoid. That is the older-hands, thin-skin, sensitive-area buyer, and for them the Relief beats the Prime outright. We go through that case in the best massage gun for seniors. For a lifter or a runner with thick, sore legs, it is the wrong Theragun.
Which one, in one line each
- One gun, at home, ordinary sore legs and back: the Prime. It is the Theragun most people should buy, and its case against the more expensive Pro is in Theragun Prime vs Pro.
- A gun that travels, or a second gun for the gym bag: the Mini. Its rival at a third of the price is the Bob and Brad Q2, compared in Theragun Mini vs Bob and Brad Q2.
- Gentle, simple, older hands: the Relief. Cheaper than either and closer to the job.
Whichever you choose, the shared truth is that the numbers most buyers are shopping on — amplitude, stall force, noise — are not on any of the three pages you would buy from. The specs above are the ones that are, copied on the date stated, and we will update this page if Therabody publishes more. If you want a travel gun and are not wedded to the brand, the best massage guns for travel ranks the Mini against everything else that fits a bag.
Every pick, in full
Specs below are the manufacturer’s own published figures, each linked to the page it came from. Where a maker does not publish a number, the table says so and names the page we checked — that absence is information too.

Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded
Therabody Theragun Prime (6th Gen)
The long-stroke option, and the build quality is not in question — but Therabody's current US product page publishes dimensions, weight, battery and warranty and does not publish amplitude, stall force, PPM or noise, so the numbers most buyers are shopping on are not on the page they are shopping from.
What it gets right
- The 16 mm stroke Therabody quotes is genuinely long, and stroke length is what determines depth
- Real-time pressure feedback stops the most common user error — leaning on it far too hard
- Rated by Therabody to survive drops from 10 feet, which matters more than it sounds for a thing you use on a hard floor
What it does not
- Amplitude, stall force, PPM and dB are absent from the current US product page — we checked
- Two attachments in the box, against five on guns costing a fifth as much
- 120 minutes of battery is quoted at the LOWEST speed setting, which is not the setting you will use
- One-year limited warranty on a device at this price
| Amplitude | Not published page we checked |
|---|---|
| Stall force | Not published page we checked |
| Speed range | Not published page we checked |
| Speed settings | 5 source |
| Weight | 2 lb source |
| Noise | Not published page we checked |
| Battery | 2 h source |
| Attachments | 2 source |
| Warranty | 1-year limited source |
| Dimensions | 238 × 153 × 61 mm source |

Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded
Therabody Theragun Mini (3rd Gen)
A genuinely pocketable gun that survives being thrown in a bag — the trade is that a short body has to give up stroke somewhere, and Therabody does not say where.
What it gets right
- Small enough to actually carry, which is the only spec that matters for a travel gun
- Simple three-speed operation
What it does not
- No published amplitude or stall force
- Priced like a full-size premium gun
- Short handle means you cannot reach your own mid-back with it
| Amplitude | Not published page we checked |
|---|---|
| Stall force | Not published page we checked |
| Speed range | 1,750–2,400 PPM source |
| Speed settings | 3 source |
| Weight | 0.9 lb source |
| Noise | Not published page we checked |
| Battery | 2.5 h source |
| Attachments | 3 source |
| Warranty | 1-year limited source |
| Dimensions | 116 × 135 × 96 mm source |

Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded
Therabody Theragun Relief
Therabody's deliberately gentle model — lighter, simpler and less aggressive than the Prime, which is the right direction for stiff hands and thin skin rather than a compromise.
What it gets right
- Simple controls with no app required — a real advantage if the buyer is not going to pair anything to a phone
- Lighter and less aggressive than the Prime, which is the point rather than a limitation
- Therabody's ergonomic handle geometry makes it easier to hold with a weak grip
What it does not
- Same missing-spec problem as the rest of the Therabody range
- Not the tool for dense glute or thick paraspinal muscle
- Costs more than fully-specified budget guns that hit harder
| Amplitude | Not published page we checked |
|---|---|
| Stall force | Not published page we checked |
| Speed range | Not published page we checked |
| Weight | 1.37 lb source |
| Noise | Not published page we checked |
| Battery | 2 h source |
| Attachments | 3 source |
| Warranty | 1-year source |
| Dimensions | 9.66 × 2.58 × 1.37 in source |
Common questions
Is the Theragun Mini as powerful as the Prime?
Therabody does not publish amplitude or stall force for either on its US product pages, so nobody can answer that from the maker’s own figures. What is published is that the Prime has five speeds and real-time pressure feedback and the Mini has three speeds at 1,750 to 2,400 percussions per minute. Physically, a short body has to give up stroke somewhere, so we treat the Mini as the less deep of the two and the Prime as the one for thick muscle.
Which Theragun is best for travel?
The Mini. At 0.40 kg with a travel lock, a soft case in the box and a stated 150 minutes of battery, it is the only Theragun designed to be carried. The Prime is a home gun. If the brand is not the point, a pocket gun from a maker that publishes its numbers costs about a third as much and is compared directly in Theragun Mini vs Bob and Brad Q2.
Is the Theragun Relief better than the Mini?
For a different person. The Relief is Therabody’s gentlest gun, with one-button control, 1.37 lb, three attachments and a price tier below the Mini and the Prime; it is the right choice for older hands, thin skin or anyone who wants percussion without aggression. The Mini is the one that fits a bag. Neither publishes amplitude, stall force or noise, and only the Mini states its speed range.
Sources
- 1.Therabody — Theragun Prime product page — fetched 17 Sep 2026: 32 oz, 5 speeds, 120 min at lowest speed, 2 attachments, 1-year limited; no amplitude, stall force or dB
- 2.Therabody — Theragun Mini (3rd Gen) product page — fetched 17 Sep 2026: 0.40 kg, 3 speeds at 1750/2100/2400 PPM, 150 min, 3 attachments, travel lock; no amplitude, stall force or dB
- 3.Therabody — Theragun Relief product page — fetched 17 Sep 2026: 1.37 lb, 120 min, 3 attachments, one-button control; no speed range, amplitude, stall force or dB
- 4.Bob and Brad — C2 massage gun product page — publishes amplitude, stall force, PPM, dB